WeGO Awards

Established in 2011, the WeGO Awards is WeGO’s triennial competition that recognizes and promotes
smart initiatives that use ICT to improve the quality of life of citizens.




1st WeGO Awards 570 380 WeGO

1st WeGO Awards

The 1st WeGO Awards were held at the 2nd WeGO General Assembly in Barcelona in 2012. Local governments competed with their projects in the following categories: Services, Efficiency, Open City, Urban Management, Digital Divide. Out of 47 applications in total, 10 were selected as winners.

2nd WeGO Awards 570 380 WeGO

2nd WeGO Awards

The 2nd WeGO Awards were held at the 3rd WeGO General Assembly in Chengdu in 2014. Local governments competed with their projects in the following categories: Services, Efficiency, Open City, Urban Management, Digital Divide. Out of 68 applications in total, 15 were selected as winners.

3rd WeGO Awards 570 380 WeGO

3rd WeGO Awards

3회 WeGO Awards 시상식은 2017년 울리야놉스크에서 열린 WeGO 제 4차 총회에서 개최되었습니다WeGO Awards에 참가한 지방 정부는 개방형 도시, 전자 정부 서비스, 디지털 포용, 혁신적인 스마트 시티, 지속 가능한 도시, 협력 도시 분야에서 경쟁했습니다. 지원한 총 73개의 사업 중 18개가 수상을 하였습니다.



Dr. Mila Gasco-Hernendez (Spain)
Associate Research Director,
Center for Technology in Government – SUNY Albany

Dr. Sylviane Toporkoff (France)
Founder & Partner,
Items International

Dr. Jane E. Fountain (USA)
National Center for Digital Government

Mr. David Eaves (Canada)
Negotiation and Strategy Consultant
Eaves Consulting/Eaves.ca

Dr. Yahia Abdalla Mohamed Hamad (Sudan)
Communications and Information Technology

Dr. Jong Sung Hwang (Korea)
Vice President,
National Information Society Agency (NIA)

Dr. Pan Suk Kim (Korea)
Asian Association for Public Administration (AAPA)


Category 1 – Services

  • Best e-Government Prize – Mobile Building Inspections – Surrey
  • Outstanding e-Government Prize – Taipei 1999 Citizen Hotline – Taipei

Category 2 – Efficiency

  • Best e-Government Prize – GIS Based Property Tax System – Bangalore
  • Outstanding e-Government Prize – Super Service System – Uskudar

Category 3 – Open City

  • Best e-Government Prize – Open Helsinki – Accessible Services ? Helsinki
  • Outstanding e-Government Prize – Abu Dhabi Spatial Data Infrastructure (ADSDI) – Abu Dhabi

Category 4 – Urban Management

  • Best e-Government Prize – Sabadell Ciutat Intelligent, Smart City – Sabadell
  • Outstanding e-Government Prize – Malatya Municipality Infrastructure Information System – Malatya

Category 5 – Digital Divide

  • Best e-Government Prize – Wi-Fi in Public Spaces – Buenos Aires
  • Outstanding e-Government Prize – Bridging the Digital Divide – Gyeongsangbuk-Do


Chris Moore (Canada)
Digital Hamilton Task Force
Hamilton Chamber of Commerce

Tang Zhiwei (China)
Vice Dean,
School of Political and Public Administration,
University of Electronic Science and Technology of China

Joonas Pekkanen (Finland)
Founder and President,
Open Ministry

Giulio Quaggiotto (United Arab Emirates)
Advisor for Innovation,
Prime Minister’s Office

Nadezhda Glebovna Yarushkina (Russia)
Vice President of Research,
Ulyanovsk State Technical University

Mustafa Omar Nawari (Sudan)
Faculty of Engineering,
University of Khartoum


Peter Baeck (United Kingdom)
Collaborative Economy Research,
Policy & Research Unit, Nesta

Cristina Bueti (Switzerland)
IoT & Smart Cities,
International Telecommunication Union (ITU)

Mellyana Frederika (Indonesia)
Programme Specialist,
Pulse Lab Jakarta – UN Global Pulse

Marc Holzer (United States of America)
Rutgers University – School of Public Affairs and Administration

André Gomyde Porto (Brazil)
Brazilian Network of Intelligent and Human Cities,
Economic Development, Science, Technology, and Innovation

Kirill Sviatov (Russia)
Information Systems and Technologies,
Ulyanovsk State Technical University

Marc Wolfram (Korea)
Associate Professor,
Urban Sustainability Transitions Lab,
Yonsei University