Provided by Gtranslate


Find out more about WeGO as an organization, its values, mission and governance.


The World Smart Sustainable Cities Organization (WeGO), is a membership-based international association of local governments, smart tech solution providers, and
institutions committed to the transformation of cities into smart sustainable cities through facilitating public-private partnerships (PPP).

WeGO was founded by 50 member cities in 2010 as the World e-Governments Organization, hence our acronym. However, as the concept of smart city continued
evolving, during the 4th General Assembly (2017) WeGO expanded its mandate and changed its name to the World Smart Sustainable Cities Organization.

WeGO serves for its members as their international platform to improve the quality of life, innovate in the delivery of public services, and strengthen regional competitiveness.

Smart Sustainable Cities for All


Cities that ensure enduring economic, social, and environmental sustainability by:
      • exploiting the power of digital technologies
      • engaging city leaders and communities
      • integrating across sectors and disciplines
      • accessing investment for smart sustainable cities development

to improve efficiency of urban operation and services, quality of life, and economic prosperity and services for their communities.


  • WeGO promotes and facilitates the worldwide transformation of cities to smart sustainable cities.
  • WeGO is a global platform for cities and their partners to leverage their innovation potential, enhance their digital capabilities, promote digital ethics, and develop transformative solutions for smart sustainable cities.
  • WeGO fosters and improves international exchange, cooperation, project implementation, and learning amongst cities and with their partners.


WeGO was founded in 2010 as the World e-Governments Organization of Cities and Local Governments, hence our acronym.

According to our statutes, our 50 founding members are Abu Dhabi, Addis Ababa, Agra, Amsterdam, Baku, Bangkok, Barcelona, Batam, Berlin, Birmingham, Bucharest, Caracas, Chengdu, Dakar, Dar es Salaam, Dhaka, Edmonton, Frankfurt, Harare, Helsinki, Hong Kong, Hunan Province, Jakarta, Kathmandu, Khartoum State, La Manche, Lisbon, Manila, Mexico City, Minsk, Mosman, Muscat, Nairobi, Nanjing, Ningbo, Nur-Sultan, Paris, Quezon City, Saga Prefecture, San Francisco, São Paulo, Seoul, Suva, Tashkent, Thua Thien Hue, Tel Aviv, Tunis, Ulaanbaatar, Vladivostok, Zhejiang Province.


President City
Seoul (South Korea)
Executive Vice President City
Almaty (Kazakhstan)
Vice President Cities

Kampala (Uganda)
São Paulo (Brazil)

Executive Committee Member Cities
Abu Dhabi (United Arab Emirates)
Abuja (Nigeria)
Almaty (Kazakhstan)
Chengdu (China)
Cuenca (Ecuador)
Hebron (Palestine)
Kampala (Uganda)
Makati (the Philippines)
Maputo (Mozambique)
Ramgram (Nepal)
São Paulo (Brazil)
Seberang Perai (Malaysia)
Seoul (Korea)
Wellington (New Zealand)

  • The General Assembly (GA) triennially convenes all full members to make key decisions that set the strategic direction of WeGO.
  • The Executive Committee (EXCOM) annually convenes up to 21 members including the President City, Executive Vice President City, and Vice President Cities, to review activities carried out in the previous year and planned for the year ahead.
  • The President City is elected by the GA and its mayor serves as President, who supervises and represents WeGO.
  • The Executive Vice President City will host the next regular meeting of the GA, and assists the President City along with Vice President Cities nominated by EXCOM and appointed by the President City.