Find more information about the foundation of WeGO and its different components on this page.


The World Smart Sustainable Cities Organization (WeGO), established by 50 founding members in 2010, is an international association of city and other local governments, smart tech solution providers, and national and regional institutions committed to the transformation of cities into smart sustainable cities.

WeGO’s Secretariat is based in Seoul and supported by regional offices in East Asia (Chengdu, China), Eurasia (Ulyanovsk Region, Russia), the Mediterranean (Beyoğlu, Turkey), and Latin America (Mexico City, Mexico).

WeGO has more than 200 members around the world and serves as their international platform to improve the quality of life, innovate in the delivery of public services, and strengthen regional competitiveness.


WeGO’s vision is to create “Smart Sustainable Cities for All”, in other words innovative cities that leverage digital technology and connectivity to improve the quality of life, efficiency of urban operation and services, and economic prosperity for all citizens, while ensuring long-term economic, social, and environmental sustainability.


  • To promote and facilitate the transformation of cities to smart sustainable cities worldwide.
  • To be a global platform for cities to enhance their digital capabilities and leverage their innovation potentials in order to develop transformative solutions for smart sustainable cities.
  • To foster international exchange, cooperation, and learning among cities.


WeGO was founded in 2010 as the World e-Governments Organization of Cities and Local Governments, hence our acronym.

According to our statutes, our 50 founding members are Abu Dhabi, Addis Ababa, Agra, Amsterdam, Baku, Bangkok, Barcelona, Batam, Berlin, Birmingham, Bucharest, Caracas, Chengdu, Dakar, Dar es Salaam, Dhaka, Edmonton, Frankfurt, Harare, Helsinki, Hong Kong, Hunan Province, Jakarta, Kathmandu, Khartoum State, La Manche, Lisbon, Manila, Mexico City, Minsk, Mosman, Muscat, Nairobi, Nanjing, Ningbo, Nur-Sultan, Paris, Quezon City, Saga Prefecture, San Francisco, São Paulo, Seoul, Suva, Tashkent, Thua Thien Hue, Tel Aviv, Tunis, Ulaanbaatar, Vladivostok, Zhejiang Province.


  • The General Assembly (GA) triennially convenes all full members to make key decisions that set the strategic direction of WeGO.
  • The Executive Committee (EXCOM) annually convenes up to 21 members including the President City, Executive Vice President City, and Vice President Cities, to review activities carried out in the previous year and planned for the year ahead.
  • The President City is elected by the GA and its mayor serves as President, who supervises and represents WeGO.
  • The Executive Vice President City will host the next regular meeting of the GA, and assists the President City along with Vice President Cities nominated by EXCOM and appointed by the President City.


Dummy Image

The President City supervises and represents WeGO. It is elected at the General Assembly and chairs all WeGO meetings.
Any full member city that has fully paid membership fees and wishes to be elected as President City should notify the Secretariat in writing of its candidacy at least one month prior to the General Assembly.

The Vice President Cities consist of an Executive Vice President City and not less than five Vice President Cities. The Executive Vice President City assists the President City together with the Vice President Cities, and substitutes the President City when he or she is absent from meetings or other events. Vice President Cities are nominated by the Executive Committee and appointed by the President City. The host of the next General Assembly is automatically appointed as the Executive Vice President City, while Vice President Cities are appointed by the President taking equal geographical distribution into consideration as much as possible. The President and Vice Presidents serve a three-year term and may be re-elected.

The Executive Committee takes the most important decision related to WeGO. It consists of twenty or fewer cities, including the President and Vice President Cities. Members of the Executive Committee are elected by the General Assembly, and meetings are held annually.

Any member city wishing to join the Executive Committee should notify the Secretariat in writing of its candidacy one month prior to the General Assembly. Executive Committee members serve a three-year term and may be re-elected.

The General Assembly is composed of all WeGO members and meets every three years to decide on WeGO’s general direction.